ASM - Queensland

Upcoming Events

2016 ASMQ BD Awards

The six finalists of the 2016 Becton Dickinson awards from Queensland Branch are:

  • Luke Blakeway (Institute for Glycomics, Griffith University)

  • Jessica Harrison (SCMB, The University of Queensland)

  • Diana Mubaiwa (Institute for Glycomics, Griffith University)

  • Thisun Piyasena (SCMB, The University of Queensland)

  • Leah Roberts (SCMB, The University of Queensland)

  • Andrew Turner (SCMB, The University of Queensland)

Come along and support our speakers at the awards ceremony!

When: 1st of April 1-3pm
Where: AIBN Seminar Room (Bld 75 Room 132), The University of Queensland St Lucia 
Drinks and food will be provided free to ASM members following the event

You can RSVP for the event online: 


Special seminar: ASM Visiting Speaker Program

Professor Stefan Schwarz will be giving a seminar on 21st of July 2015, from 3-4pm in AIBN (Building 78), The University of Queensland, St Lucia.  There will be a reception with drinks following the presentation, which will be free for ASM members.  Professor Schwarz is a specialist veterinarian in microbiology, epidemiology, and molecular genetics and gene technology.  We look forward to seeing you all there! 


ASMQ Annual General Meeting 

The 2015 AGM will be held on Wednesday 19th of August 2015.  A flyer will be circulated shortly.


MiM 2015

Save the date!  MiM2015 will move to Cedar Creek Estate in Mount Tamborine this year, and will be held on Saturday 21st of November 2015.  We will circulate a notice looking for speaker nominations (student + ECR members welcome) and a full program in the coming months.  Keep an eye out for this and save the date in your calendars.

For more information on the venue, visit: